Home > Uncategorized > How Important is Your Birthday to Sport?

How Important is Your Birthday to Sport?

I’m pretty reserved, and don’t like to focus on myself much, but there are times when I can’t help it. Sometimes, I like to Google my name, just to see where I show up (I searched “Brian Murphy” in a field, and stopped trying to look for myself after 20 pages. I need a less common name).

Connected for ever, you and me.

Connected forever, you and me.

Today is a day in which I feel OK talking all about me because today is my birthday. I am 25 years old, or in other words, probably 1/3rd of the way through my life.

I think everyone has been curious at some point to see what has happened on their birth date. In my case, July 3 marked the end of the Battle of Gettysburg during the Civil War, culminating in Pickett’s Charge of 1863. It is also the date of the founding of Quebec in 1608 and the admission of Idaho into the United States in 1890.

But this is a sports blog, so I had to see where my birth ties with some significant events in sports history.

On my birthdate of July 3 …

1932: With a Boston law restricting games from being within 1,000 feet of a church, the Red Sox play their first Sunday game at Fenway park, defeating the Yankees, 11-2.

1947: The Cleveland Indians purchase Larry Doby from the Newark Eagles. Two days later, he became the first black player of the American League.

1968: Indians pitcher Luis Tiant strikeouts 19 batters through 10 innings in a 1-0 Cleveland win.

1970: California Angels pitcher Clyde Wright no-hits the A’s with just 98 pitches and in a span of 111 minutes.

1973: If you thought that a pitcher was the first player in National League history to hit two grand slams in one inning, you’re right. The Atlanta Braves’ Tony Cloninger did it on this date. He became the first pitcher in Major League history to do it, and drove in nine runs!

1983: The Rangers beat the A’s in Oakland, 16-4, after scoring 12 runs in the top of the 15th inning. It stands as the most runs scored by one team in extra innings.

2006: Barry Bonds (41), Steve Finley (41), and Moises Alou (40) of the San Francisco Giants become the first trio of 40-somethings to start in the same outfield in Major League history.

2009: Manny Ramirez returns from 50-game suspension in a game at the San Diego Padres.

Then there are these guys who share their birth date with me: Frank Tanana (1953), Greg Vaughn (1965), Neil O’Donnell and the previously mentioned Moises Alou (1966), Teemu Selanne (1970) and Wanderlei Silva (1976).

So, it’s probably not the important date in sports history. That’s something that happens when you’re born at the time of year when only one major professional team sport is in season, but it’s still something fun to look at.

What’s happened on your birthday?

  1. Stephanie
    July 4, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Uhhhh, some world trade center fell’own on my 12th birthday. Oh! And the 1st Canadian track and field meet held in 1839. 🙂

  1. July 4, 2009 at 6:48 am

Leave a Reply

