Home > Uncategorized > College Football is Here! How About Another Senseless Poll?

College Football is Here! How About Another Senseless Poll?

In a little more than two hours, the college football season will officially begin. The spirit, the bands, the pagentry, the tailgates, hot cheerleaders, the alcohol hidden under many jackets, it’s all amazing.

But college football is also about polls. It seems as if everyone has a preseason poll. And while I hate preseason polls because they are more or less meaningless, I am feeling left out that I haven’t written my own top 25.

So here is my college football version of 52-pick up (just with 25 instead of 52, OK?):

1. Florida
2. Texas
3. Oklahoma
4. Ohio State
5. Virginia Tech
6. USC
7. Penn State
8. Mississippi
9. Alabama
10. California
11. Oklahoma State
12. Boise State
13. LSU
14. Georgia Tech
15. TCU
16. Nebraska
17. Oregon
18. Georgia
19. BYU
20. Oregon State
21. North Carolina
22. Notre Dame
23. Florida State
24. Kansas
25. Iowa

I do think that Alabama, Georgia and a couple of other teams are overrated. I think Oregon State and Ohio State are a bit underrated. But at the base of it, who knows? No one! It is certain that some teams in the top 10 probably won’t end the season with a ranking with someone in the 30s or 40s will probably get into the top 20. Just accept it.

Let’s get to the games! And the Sunday hangovers!

As far as my alma mater is concerned, If the UCF Knights don't go at least 6-6, George O'Leary is gone

As far as my alma mater is concerned, If the UCF Knights don't go at least 6-6, George O'Leary is gone

  1. September 4, 2009 at 1:57 am

    I’d like to have a legitimate discussion about UCF this season, sometime.

    I mean, looking at the schedule, I guess 6-6 is a possibility.

    Samford, Memphis and UAB are safe games to pencil is as victories, I think.

    But what about everyone else. They get Buffalo in Orlando, but I’m not sure the Knights will be able to to have a full-fledged offense by then.

    ECU in Greenville is a loss, and I think Miami beats them handily.

    But Texas, Houston and Southern Miss are all losses, and all by a lot of points.

    The toss-ups, for me, are Rice and UAB, both of which are on the road. I think they have to drop one of them, because UCF is not the greatest road team in the world.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

