Home > Uncategorized > Running Blog for Game 2 of the 2009 World Series

Running Blog for Game 2 of the 2009 World Series

So I was able to leave my friend’s house a little earlier than I expected today, so now I am back home and locked in for game 2.

Two things I am wishing for tonight: A Yankees win (if I can be unbiased for a second) and the WordPress server to not crash, like it did last night around 8:15 last night.

4:44 p.m. Oh, no! Did I miss the Jay-Z performance?? Oh, shucks. I really wanted to see that. Dangit.

4:45 p.m. This game can’t possibly top what Mark Grace just said to Chris Rose: “You lead the league in getting blown off.” Oh, the double entrendre, I love you.

4:46 p.m. Pedro Martinez vs. A.J. Burnett. Eric Karros said it right: This game is going to come down to the bullpens.

4:50 p.m. Couple of lineup changes tonight. The Phillies have put in Matt Stairs at DH. Raul Ibanez will play left field.

Jose Molina, as the Yankees have done often this season, will catch Burnett as the expense of Jorge Posada. And then Jerry Hairston Jr. is in right field for Nick Swisher, who is hitting .114 this postseason.

4:59 p.m. And we are underway with a strike to Jimmy Rollins.

5:00 p.m. Personally, I can’t stand to watch Burnett. You just never know when he is going to completely use it. I have never trusted him, even when he was pitching well in the middle of the season.

5:02 p.m. Against Burnett … Ryan Howard is 2-for-12, but both hits were solo homers. Rollins is 11-for-43 and Utley is 6-for-21.

5:05 p.m. If 50,000 people were chanting “Who’s your daddy?!” at me, I would be pretty pumped to shut them up, you know?

5:06 p.m. Pedro isn’t the Pedro of 1999, (which in case you didn’t notice, was absolutely insane) but on this stage, I think he will do really, really well.

5:08 p.m. That’s part of the beauty of this game tonight. For one night, will Pedro turn back the clock and be a stud in the playoffs again? Or is he just a 38-year-old pitcher with marginal stuff?

5:10 p.m. Many Yankees have a ton of at-bats against Pedro obviously. Among them: Damon is 5-for-25. Jeter is 22-for-86. Matsui is just 4-for-28. Rodriguez is 16-for-55 and how about Jerry Hairston Jr. being 10-for-27?

5:14 p.m. Great start for Pedro. He had Jeter late on a fastball and Damon chasing the changeup. That’s what he needs.

5:15 p.m. Pedro is 1-2 against the Yankees in the playoffs. 34.1 innings, 32 hits, 18 earned runs, 13 walks and 40 strikeouts. But again, that’s all since 2004.

5:20 p.m. Note to our viewers: A.J. Burnett is on the mound for the Yankees, not Josh Beckett. Will someone please tell Joe Buck?

5:21 p.m. I do agree with Buck that the Yankees’ fans were a little reserved in the first inning, but I don’t blame them for being nervous. This team did nothing to give them a reason to be excited last night and really, they HAVE to win this game.

5:23 p.m. Ibanez had a monster year, but didn’t do much of anything after the All-Star break and is hitting just .229 with one HR in the playoffs.

5:25 p.m. The Minnesota Twins are wondering why they didn’t get that same call in Game 2 of the ALDS. That hit by Ibanez was closer to the line than that which was called foul for the Twins.

5:26 p.m. “Matt Stairs loves the fastball.” Which hitter doesn’t?

5:28 p.m. So a bloop double just inside the left-field line and a hit by Matt Stairs gives the Phillies a 1-0 lead. Even though, really, that was an error.

5:30 p.m. Let’s see if the Yankees get a little tight here. They know that they have to win and they are already trailing tonight. They try to do too much, but with a lot of players on the team that have never been here, I think they just might.

5:34 p.m. I wish Tim McCarver was as quiet as this crowd.

5:35 p.m. Pedro is a great pitcher in the postseason. But again, almost all of that work came at least five years ago.

5:36 p.m. Or maybe I’m wrong, because he was spot on against the Dodgers in the ALCS. And there’s a nasty curve from Pedro to get A-Rod looking. Wow!!

5:40 p.m. Talk about the Yankees looking uncomfortable, Robinson Cano doesn’t look right at all.

5:42 p.m. How many times have Phillies fans said that they need to have Raul Ibanez’s glove out there? Nice catch.

5:49 p.m. I will not be getting my free Black Jack taco from Taco Bell. I will be in San Antonio that day, going to a Spurs game. I think it’s a push.

5:51 p.m. Rollins had a much better second half than first half, but overall, he did not have a good season and isn’t hitting well in the postseason. But he is such a tough out, it’s annoying.

5:53 p.m. It’s tough to look at that Yankees lineup and see Jose Molina’s name, but if Burnett is better because of his presence, they have to be for it.

5:55 p.m. That was a nice curve from Burnett, but I think Victorino was a little distracted by Rollins’ false start.

5:59 p.m. It just hit me that I may also miss some of Game 4 as I return from San Antonio. It’s all for family, but that sucks.

6:01 p.m. Hahaha! You now know what to get Tim McCarver for Christmas: A new watch. Or a calendar.

6:02 p.m. No matter what happens this inning, credit to the Phillies for running Burnett’s pitch count up and distracting him. He has 56 pitches going into the Howard at-bat.

6:04 p.m. Howard strikes out, but Burnett was MIGHTY lucky to get away with that 1-0 pitch.

6:08 p.m. Watch Jose Molina be the player that gives the Yankees a meaningful run in this series.

6:11 p.m. Pedro has great command, but he basically just walked the pitcher.

6:11 p.m. Delino Deshields. One of the greatest baseball trivia answers ever.

6:15 p.m. I’m not exactly sure what Jeter is looking for there. Just another showing of how well Pedro is pitching today. He has 59 pitches through three. Burnett has 61.

6:18 p.m. I wouldn’t be acting like myself if I didn’t say that this game has a very good pace to it.

6:20 p.m. Wow, what late dip on that 3-1 pitch to Werth!

But he fights off the 3-2 into right field for a lead-off single.

6:21 p.m. The Yankees are wearing down Pedro pretty well. The Phillies are doing the same on the other side just as good and they have the lead.

6:23 p.m. Jose Molina shows why he is in the lineup. I’m not sure Posada would have made that good of a throw.

6:24 p.m. You hate to say it in the fourth inning of Game 2 of a series, but this is a HUGE inning coming up for the Yankees.

6:28 p.m. The Yankees tie it up at 1-1 with, dare I say it, a Tex message. Oh, I feel dirty now. And there probably isn’t anyone in that Yankee lineup right now that needs a hit like that more than Teixeira.

6:30 p.m. A-Rod hits a ball decently, but his struggles in this series continue.

6:31 p.m. I would still think Ozzie Guillen is the best interview in the game. I mean, cuss words are journalistic gold.

6:35 p.m. The Yanks have a small bit of momentum now. Can they keep it for more than half an inning?

6:40 p.m. You know the game has slowed down when the broadcasters starts flushing out all their notes on the team coaches.

6:45 p.m. My Internet has become achingly slow in the last few minutes, so let me catch up here:

If Jose Molina is going to walk, it only makes sense for Carlos Ruiz to double.

Jimmy Rollins had another good at bat, but he should have struck out looking a few pitches before he finally whiffed.

6:50 p.m. JA Happ hasn’t pitched well this postseason, but that’s quite a weapon for the Phillies to bring in from their bullpen.

6:51 p.m. Cliff Lee could have showed up at 7:45, it wouldn’t have mattered. I need to find out where I would rank that in greatest starting pitching performances in World Series history.

6:53 p.m. I like how people are getting on Pedro’s case for bringing up the Don Zimmer incident. So why isn’t FOX held to the same standard?

6:54 p.m. I’m not particularly a Microsoft fan, but with them using a commercial that parodies my favorite movie of all time, they’ve moved up in my book.

6:55 p.m. I won’t see Paranormal Activity until I get my prescription for Ambien filled. But I desperately want to see it.

And I hope you are watching the same commercials I am, or else this looks very non-sequitur to you.

6:58 p.m. Finally, a softly hit ball by Utley.

7:01 p.m. That wasn’t exactly a sharp curve by Burnett to get Howard, but it was well located. Burnett is rolling.

7:02 p.m. Upset alert: No. 13 Virginia Tech is losing to North Carolina, 14-7, in Virginia Tech at the start of the fourth quarter. That game is on ESPN if you care to turn off the World Series.

7:03 p.m. With 83 pitches entering this inning, this is the last we’ll see of Pedro.

7:05 p.m. Yankees fans start chanting “Who’s your daddy?!” for the first time since the game started. Very enthused, they’ve not been.

7:08 p.m. You could feel the changeup coming to A-Rod there. So he’s now 0-for-7 with 5 Ks in this series. Anyone who says that he is back to being A-Fraud is desperate for attention.

7:09 p.m. As good as Burnett was in that last inning, Martinez has actually been nastier this inning.

7:10 p.m. And that was a great pitch to Matsui that he would have struck out on nine times out of 10. But somehow, he gets beneath it and the Yankees are ahead 2-1. Still, that was a very good pitch.

7:13 p.m. Pedro through more than 100 pitches twice in September (119, 130). That was a relatively quick inning, so maybe he could come back out. He shouldn’t have a problem retiring  the bottom three of New York’s order again.

7:15 p.m. I will say Rivera for two innings is a mistake, but if you then ask me who would I rather have pitch the eighth, I don’t have a good answer. Everyone down there has had problems.

7:18 p.m. Somewhere, A.J. Burnett’s mom is very happy. I met her a few weeks ago. She’s a nice lady.

7:19 p.m. As you watch this, just think: Cliff  Lee was that much better last night.

7:20 p.m. “Invictus” looks very inspiring, but I don’t see Morgan Freeman as Nelson Mandela. And Matt Damon’s South African accent needs work.

7:23 p.m. Note to FOX: Stop showing random people in the stands. It’s pointless.

7:24 p.m. DJ Hero looks pretty cool. “Anything” Hero has been fantastic.

7:25 p.m. Good velocity still by Pedro. Scott Eyre must be warming up for Cabrera.

7:28 p.m. Or not. But it won’t matter much if Cabrera bunts.

7:29 p.m. Wow! Cabrera doesn’t bunt and lines a shot into right. Gardner goes to third and Posada will pinch hit. Now THAT is it for Pedro. What a job well done!

7:30 p.m. I would give thought to bringing out Burnett for the eighth, even with 108 pitches and Molina out of the game.

7:34 p.m. Posada is 0-for-7 with five Ks against Chan Ho Park.

7:36 p.m. Yankees score a big run as Park leaves a pitch out over the plate and Posada lines it into center. 3-1, New York.

7:37 p.m. I disagree with bunting with Jeter here, but hey, what do I know?

7:38 p.m. The reason why you don’t bunt with Derek Jeter isn’t because he could strike out, but because he is such a good hitter, he could get a base hit or move a runner over with a ground ball.

7:43 p.m. Oh, man. You have to be kidding me! Another horrible call in the playoffs?? I don’t like full replay for baseball, but these playoffs aren’t helping. There have been so many bad calls at critical times. You can add that one to the list.

7:45 p.m. It should be first and second, one out, 4-1 Yankees. We’ll see what happens in the eighth.

7:47 p.m. Here’s Mariano. It works in his favor that the two biggest threats on Phily are left handed. …

7:50 p.m. No, it wasn’t obvious. But it’s still wrong and that’s what matters.

7:52 p.m. Another great at-bat by Rollins!

7:54 p.m. I know it’s not right for me to question it because if Rivera gets the first two guys out, then it looks great, but … why bring in Rivera in the eighth?? You still have to use him for the ninth inning, too!

7:57 p.m. Rivera, interestingly, not pitching Utley inside.

7:59 p.m. I knew one of the two HRs that Rivera has given up in the postseason was hit by Sandy Alomar, Jr. I never would have guessed Jay Payton was the second guy.

8:00 p.m. I agree with McCarver, finally. Philly HAS to send the runners there! If they did, this is a 3-2 game with runners on the corners with one out and Howard up.

But after what happened to the Yankees in the seventh, I have no sympathy.

8:01 p.m. Good pace, by the way. Good pace!!!!

8:01 p.m. Of note, Rivera threw 23 pitches that inning.

8:03 p.m. Brian Gorman gives one back. He is having a tough, tough night over there at first. When I saw it in real time, Utley looked out and I didn’t even think about it.

And then Teixeira gets hit on the outside of the right knee. That’s going to hurt tomorrow. I wonder if it will hamper his renown base-stealing ability.

8:06 p.m. Aceves can’t possibly be warming up for the ninth, can he?

8:07 p.m. That pitch was outside, was but that’s how this series is going for Alex Rodriguez.

8:13 p.m. Madson does his job. Now for the ninth …

8:16 p.m. In their careers versus Rivera, Howard is 0-for-3, Werth is 0-for-1 with a K and Ibanez is 2-for-16 with five Ks.

8:17 p.m. Hey, Buck! Thanks for bringing up that blown save in 2001. My right middle knuckle remembers.

8:18 p.m. After we disputed the pitch selection, my dad is very happy right now that he called that last pitch: Cutter on the outside corner for a strikeout looking.

Even though that was probably a ball. And Howard’s F-bomb that was picked up by FOX’s audio as he headed down the dugout steps told you as much.

8:22 p.m. Stairs is 2-for-14 with four Ks in his career vs. Rivera.

8:23 p.m. Rivera is not going to give Stairs anything here that he can extend his hands on.

8:25 p.m. Rivera strikes out Stairs on a cutter, down and in, to end the game and tie this series at 1-1 as we head to Philadelphia.

8:26 p.m. Story lines tonight and tomorrow: Pedro and Burnett pitching very well, bad calls by first base ump Brian Gorman, 39 pitches and two innings for Rivera and, of course, Rodriguez struggling.

8:28 p.m. The Yankees got what they needed tonight, but the Phillies got what they wanted in these first two games: a split.

Also, look at this difference between the two games. Last night was a 1-0 game for most of the night, but it felt like a blowout before it actually turned into a blowout. It felt as if the Yankees were never in the game.

Tonight, the Phillies were in this thing until the last out. The Phillies win came easier and with less stress. I always think that presents some sort of advantage.

8:30 p.m. Ozzie Guillen with a nice capo look.

8:32 p.m. Stop comparing Pedro or CC to Cliff Lee, guys. Neither guy was really THAT close to Lee. He was in his own world.

8:35 p.m. Pettitte vs. Hamels in Game 3. I can’t wait to see how Hamels looks. It’s been a tough postseason (and really season) for him.

8:36 p.m. Well, that will do it for me tonight. Thanks for visiting and/or following along! Unfortunately, I won’ t be able to do a blog on Game 3 or 4. I will be in and then traveling back from San Antonio when the game is on. I won’t even get to see Game 3 because I have to go to a Spurs game! It’ll be fun, but I’ll be stressing inside!

Thanks again and good night!

  1. October 29, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    That change to Damon was fucking flithy.

  2. October 29, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    The weird note about Hairston: He hasn’t faced Pedro since 2004, and Girardi actual used his experience against Pedro as a good thing.

    Like, it’s been five fucking years, man.

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 5:20 pm

      Yeah. It’s the same thinking of people who say that Pedro pitches well against the Yankees in the postseason. He kind of does, but hasn’t since ’04.

  3. October 29, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    The weakest outfield arm in the American League had no chance of getting Ibanez.

    Also, did you know that Budweiser is THE GREAT AMERICAN LAGER!!!!!?

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 5:29 pm

      Who has a weaker arm in either league? That was actually one of his better throws.

  4. October 29, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I want to say Fred Lewis, but that is just because I think he is overrated.

    Also, watching him perform athletic acts is always hilarious.

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      That’s funny that you call Fred Lewis overrated. I mean, he is, but I think he has a lot of potential to be a really good player. I haven’t seen him throw enough to disagree with you.

      • October 29, 2009 at 5:43 pm

        Yeah, I think the potential is there, and I am thinking I am probs basing it all on, like, two years ago when he came up or something.

  5. October 29, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    That’s what you want right now.

    You’d love to put runs on the board, obviously, but I think both teams want the starters out of there by Inning 5.

    Wear those arms out.

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 6:08 pm

      Certainly. But with how Pedro is controlling the Yankees, he may got 6 or 7.

  6. October 29, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    I cannot afford for Molina to be successful.

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 6:12 pm

      You have put a lot of stock into the “Jose Molina is worthless” campaign.

      • October 29, 2009 at 6:16 pm

        I leveraged my current 401(k) and three future children that he would slug less than .400.

  7. October 29, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    hahahaha.

    I was re-reading an SI piece from the Vault, and that shit head Duquette, who brought Pedro to Boston, was also responsible for bringing Pedro to Montreal.

    And the best part: he caught a ton of shit for it, because Delino had built some sort of awesome rapport with the community, and they all loved him, and they had no idea why they were giving him away for some minor league pitcher.

    Awesome.

  8. October 29, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Swisher Sweets could use a hit.

    And Sexy Tex-y rapes one to right!

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 6:34 pm

      Swisher could definitely use a hit, but he’s not in the lineup tonight. And I like that.
      I’ve never heard anyone “rape” a baseball.

  9. October 29, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Also: Matt Stairs looks straight out of the late ’80s. I am pretty sure he is actually Pete Incaviglia.

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 6:34 pm

      Good call!

  10. October 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Lee’s game was probs a Top 10 and maybe broaches Top 5.

    He was ugly good.

    • October 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

      He was like Jenna Jameson in “Jenna Loves Brianna.”

      Just fucking awesome.

      • spokes310
        October 29, 2009 at 7:00 pm

        I’m not sure if that’s either a compliment to her ability or the description of her task.
        Either way, good call, No. 2.

  11. October 29, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I can’t wait to hear about how A-Rod is choking again.

    HE’s hitless!!!!!!!! Against a lights-out Cliff Lee and a pretty impressive Pedro.

  12. October 29, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    TONIGHT’S DJ HERE!!!!

    • October 29, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      Hero, goddamnit.

      • spokes310
        October 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

        Why did that montage have to look like a stereotypical acid trip?

  13. October 29, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Wait, why is Brett Gardner actually at bat in the World Series?

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 8:21 pm

      He pinch ran for for Hairston in the 7th.

      • October 29, 2009 at 8:28 pm

        They should have just had the ghost of Paul O’Neill bat. It would have been better.

      • spokes310
        October 29, 2009 at 8:30 pm

        Hahahaha! He would have invisibly knocked over the water cooler.

  14. October 29, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Also, thanks for the running blog.

    Good luck in the City that Sleeps at least 8 Hours a Day (San Antonio), and drop my digits off with the hottie in black and silver.

    I am, of course, talking about DeJuan Blair.

    Have a safe trip, buddy.

    • spokes310
      October 29, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      Thanks for reading, bro.

      I am going to wear my Los Angeles Lakers World Championship hat at the Spurs game. It’s going to be brilliant. And then it’s off to party on the Riverwalk on Halloween. Maybe I’ll bump into your boy Dejuan. He is looking good this preseason.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

