Home > Uncategorized > Championship Saturday: Tim Tebow is the new Adam Morrison et al.

Championship Saturday: Tim Tebow is the new Adam Morrison et al.

What a freaking awesome day in college football. Here are just a couple of quick things I took away from it.

Oh, I totally see the resemblance

Can you say overrated?

Of the five major conference championship games played on Saturday, — I’m counting Cincy-Pitt as a de facto conference championship — of course the game that everyone wanted to see was the least exciting. Case Keenum did everything he could for Houston, but East Carolina’s defense turned away the Cougars. Cincinnati came back from a 14-point fourth quarter deficit to win by one point in the snow on the road. Texas-Nebraska was ugly, but had amazing drama at the end. I’m watching the replay of Georgia Tech-Clemson right now. The logo that says “Instant Classic” in the upper-right corner tells you all you need to know there.

Yet, Alabama and Florida not only didn’t live up to the hype. It didn’t deserve it. Alabama whipped Florida from pillar to post and was finished early in the fourth quarter. That left plenty of down time for people to talk about teary Tim Tebow.

Tim Tebow is the new Adam Morrison

That’s what a friend wrote to me in a text shortly after Florida’s loss. And really, it’s quite appropriate in some ways. Sure, Tebow is more popular because of his conference, position played, sport, and team success. But look at it this way:

Tebow at Florida is a tough player who has shown a knack to put his team on his back and win with whatever it took. He is considered by some to be the best college player ever. But he lost what was basically a national semifinal game, and when you mention his college career, you will remember him crying at the end of his career after a loss.

Morrison at Gonzaga was a tough player who had shown a knack to make great shots when his team needed them the most. Some considered him to be the next Larry Bird. But lost a regional (West) semifinal game and when you mention his college career, you will remember him crying at the end of his college career after a loss.

And I could see these comparisons transitioning to the next level. Tebow is a fantastic college player, but his pro prospects aren’t relatively bright and he will likely never top the personal success he had in college.

Matt Morrison was the No. 3 overall pick in the 2006 NBA draft, but he’s been a massive bust. He was a fantastic college player, but as the current 11th man off the Los Angeles Lakers’ bench, his pro prospects aren’t relatively bright and he will never top the personal success he had in college.

A futile title game

They are going to slaughter cattle

So, let me get this straight: Texas barely beat a decent Nebraska and its solid defense on a neutral field. And now you expect me to believe that they have a chance against a much better team with a better defense and an actually productive offense? That’s why I was rooting so hard for Nebraska to beat the Longhorns. Not only because I wanted to see all the BCS controversy talk, but because we’ve now seen how a good defense can stifle Colt McCoy. What’s a great defense going to do to him?? Oy vey.

My initial line: Alabama, -15.

You can say that the 33 days of preparation will help equalize the teams, but if it’s really going to come down to a coaching battle, I trust Nick Saban way more than Mack Brown.

God, that championship game just is going to be so bad. I hope I’m wrong, but …

And to the people on ESPN who are ridiculously trying to create suspense over whether or not Texas will actually be in the BCS Championship game — stop it! Please, stop it. Texas didn’t play well, but that really doesn’t matter. The Longhorns are 13-0 out of the Big XII and were N0. 3 coming into this week. There is no debate here. Texas will be playing Alabama for the national title. Stop trying to create conversation where there isn’t any.

Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh!

I don’t think that there is a non-BCS bowl game I am looking forward to more than the one that Nebraska will end up in. The Cornhuskers are on TV a lot out here in California, but I just haven’t watched them much. What a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge mistake on my part (OK, fine. I swear that will be the last time I link to that video. Maybe next to last).

I knew about Ndamukong Suh before the season and heard he was the odds-on favorite to be the No. 1 pick in the 2010 NFL draft. But, my lord! What he was doing against Texas’ double teams was just incredible. He’s a true man among boys.

I know that everyone else has realized all of this already, but let me take a moment just to say that I feel bad that I didn’t watch more Nebraska games because I missed out on an amazing football player. He should be included into the Heisman race, no doubt — although with the performances of McCoy and Tebow, that award is going to Mark Ingram.

With players such as Haloti Ngata making huge differences at the next, NFL GMs are always clamoring for the next great defensive tackle. No wonder he’s the top pick favorite.

UCF-USF: Here we go again?

The War on 1-4 is ready to commence

With USF’s 29-27 loss to Connecticut on Saturday, I think it’s very likely that we will see the Bulls face the (my) UCF Knights in the St. Petersburg Bowl on Dec. 19. Given the scenarios, there is no team that Knights fans would rather see as a bowl game opponent. With the schools 90 minutes apart, it’s a natural rivalry, and many at UCF — including head coach George O’Leary I bet — are still irked that USF decided to end its series against UCF after their meeting in 2008. So this matchup carries a certain revenge factor for the Knights.

We’ll all find out Sunday who is going where. But most of the very important parts of that picture were put together Saturday.

  1. December 6, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd it’s Rutgers-UCF. :/

    And now I want to go back to the University of Nebraska to see its shrine to Ndamukong Suh.

    I love their pronounciation guide: “En-dom-ah-kong Soo.”

    • spokes310
      December 6, 2009 at 6:49 pm

      Rutgers-UCF is a nice matchup. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little disappointed.

  2. December 7, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Just watch this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iIpOUOFhv24

    How Chris Fowler pronouces his name in the first two seconds is one of the best things I have heard in a long time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

