Home > Uncategorized > To Kurt Warner’s Owners: Merry Christmas. You’re Getting Screwed

To Kurt Warner’s Owners: Merry Christmas. You’re Getting Screwed

‘Twas the night before Christmas and fantasy football owners want to know, did the Grinch get a job at the Elias Sports Bureau?

Yes, in the season of giving, Elias is apparently in the mood of taking. On Wednesday, the Elias Sports Bureau, the official keeper of NFL statistics, changed this play from a five-yard touchdown pass from Kurt Warner to Anquan Boldin to a simple five-yard run for Boldin because the pass, ruled Elias, was  a lateral.

Fantasy championship dreams shattered for thousands, yet realized for just as many simultaneously. I was unlucky enough to fall into that former group. What a nice Christmas Eve gift, guys!

Anquan Boldin just couldn't catch this pass ahead of the line of scrimmage, could he? COULD HE?!?!?!

On Monday night, I was relieved to make it out of my semifinal matchup with a 4-point win, despite the exploits of Eli Manning and Steve Smith versus the Redskins. I mentioned in my Tuesday post that I advanced to the finals of my league.

Forty eight hours later, not so much. The change was made, the passing touchdown was stripped and, as a Warner owner, I am out of the championship game by about two points. I am a bit stunned, and I know that may sound awkward to those of you who have never played fantasy sports. But this really isn’t about fantasy football. This is about winning, a competitive nature. I want to win, period. At everything. I was preparing to win this weekend. Then, Elias swooped down the chimney and stole the roast beast.

So, I’m trying to be positive and I have found peace in the misery of others. While I only lost a chance to win a free league among high school friends, I know that this change probably caused other people to lose a chance at a substantial amount of money.

Maybe that’s why RotoTimes’ “advice” for those who lost their week 15 matchup due to Warner’s non-pass reads like a negotiator trying to talk down a bridge jumper.

Hell, one of my league competitors called me this afternoon to “just let you know that I love you.” And we’re heterosexual!

Hopefully this doesn’t cause anyone to take their own life. But I don’t know — the holiday season is peak time for suicides. Elias may have some blood on their hands.

Merry Christmas, everyone! I’m headed out to buy some rope.

  1. December 24, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    That is insane.

    I have to watch this play when I am not at work.

    And, really, what an awful, awful way to find out you got booted out of your championship game.

    You know, you figure if God loved Kurt Warner as much as Warner loves God, this wouldn’t have happened.

    Thou art a vengeful God.

  2. spokes310
    December 24, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I kept thinking: You know, referees admit to making the wrong call a couple days after a game. That doesn’t mean the actual decision changes.
    But I know that’s stupid thinking. All stats are valuable. In many contract incentives, there is a big difference between 1,000 rushing yards and 999.
    But yeah, it sucks. At least I didn’t lose any money.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

