Home > Uncategorized > Day One for Pitchers and Catchers!

Day One for Pitchers and Catchers!

Winter, over. Baseball, back

The three biggest little words in life are supposed to be “I love you.” For me, it’s “Pitchers and catchers.” Especially since I rarely use the word “love” when referring to something other than baseball.

I understand those who think this day is overblown. It’s a lot of stretching and soft toss in warm-up uniforms. Half the roster is still chilling for another weekend. The home ballparks are still about two months from being occupied

But if you love baseball, this is the beginning. Position players will start reporting in a few days. Spring training games begin in less than two weeks. And by then, we’ll be about a month away from the regular season.  It’s that simple.

Baseball season is coming! You hear that, Johnny Damon?

Today also means that I need to start figuring out what I am going to do for my spring training experience this year. For as long as I can remember, I have gone to at least one spring training game a year, and often more than one on many occasions. Living in Central Florida for the past seven years made this trip pretty convenient. Now that I am back out in California, it’s a bit trickier. I might still go to Florida. Or my dad and I could make the drive out to Arizona. The parks are so close together over there that it’s relatively easy to get to more than one game in a day.

I don’t know. That decision will be made soon. For now, I’m just going to enjoy the official unofficial return of baseball. Today is a great day.

  1. Frank Ladolcetta
    February 17, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    You used to love me, now all you interested in is baseball. What went wrong between us ::Tear::
    On anothere note, you should totally come down to the 407 dogg, and to me baseball means Ruzzo screaming at the TV…
    Today is a TERRIBLE day…

  2. spokes310
    February 17, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    You don’t understand, Frank. I’ve always loved baseball. You were just my college fling. The truth hurts.
    If I do come to Florida for spring training, I wouldn’t be in Orlando. I would probably be in Tampa because that’s where the Yankees’ spring training park is. So, you’ll just have to wait to see me in Orlando until … MAY!!! It’s getting here quick!!
    By the way, today is a glorious day. Ruzzo complaining about his disappointing Marlins is always hilarious.

  3. Ruzzo
    February 18, 2010 at 12:15 am

    You’re just jealous that you don’t get to spend the next 8 months watching Hanley Ramirez play almost every day. You’re stuck watching scrubs like A-Rod, Derek Jeter, Mark Tiexiera, C.C. Sabathia, Curtis Granderson and Mariano Rivera. Sucks to be you, dog.

  4. spokes310
    February 18, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Have fun for another year with Emilio Bonifacio, kid.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

