Home > Uncategorized > Running Blog Of The 2010 NCAA Men’s College Basketball Tournament Selection Show

Running Blog Of The 2010 NCAA Men’s College Basketball Tournament Selection Show

I can’t explaining it, but there is something so satisfying about brackets. So simplistic, they are attractive the eyes. It must be something about this time of year.

Like the joy of newborn baby -- so many possibilities. What road will it take?

Let’s see how this year’s bracket will look.

2:40 p.m. So who’s on the bubble? Illinois, Minnesota, Utah St., Florida, Virginia Tech, Mississippi, Rhode Island, maybe even California and UTEP. It’s certainly a weak composition, but I don’t think I can remember a time when there were so many teams on the bubble and so much disagreement as to who is in and who is out.

2:43 p.m. I’ve been watching ESPN’s bracket guru Joe Lunardi go through his final bracket before the actual thing is released. Sure, it’s a complete time waster, but you notice how difficult it will be to judge teams such as Richmond, New Mexico, Northern Iowa, etc who will be the higher-seeded team in their first-round matchup, most likely against a team from a big conference. You know there are going to be upsets, but how it is an upset if a 10th-seeded Georgia Tech team beats No. 7 Northern Iowa?

2:53 p.m. I have no idea why the Big Ten has to play its final so close to the selection show airing. The Big XII got smart and moved their its final up to Saturday. What if Ohio State had to play another double-overtime game against a bubble team like Minnesota? That would have made the selection committee’s decision on the Golden Gophers interesting and controversial.

3:00 p.m. OK, let’s get the show on the road. I have about 20 brackets I need to fill out.

3:01 p.m. Kansas is the No.1 seed and my early pick to win the championship. They are more experienced than Kentucky and more impressive to me than Syracuse. Of course, I’m sure I’ll change that opinion as I start my paralysis-by-analysis week.

3:02 p.m. Syracuse is fourth No. 1 seed? First surprise. Personally, I think they are much better than Duke. That opinion will not change.

3:04 p.m. March Madness On Demand may be a better sports media invention than the NFL Red Zone channel.

3:09 p.m. Give’em hell, Lehigh.

3:13 p.m. Looking at the Midwest region, it is a weak group for Kansas. Seth Davis got to it before I could type it, but as soon as I saw San Diego State facing Tennessee, I said, “That’s an upset.” Tennessee is just so flaky and plays as a bunch of individuals often.

3:15 p.m. I don’t see Houston beating Maryland, but Michigan State could have a tough game against New Mexico State.

3:21 p.m. I have a lot to say about the West region. Three bubble teams in UTEP, Florida and Minnesota get in. I’m OK with Minnesota and UTEP, but Florida has no business being in this field. They will lose in the first round.

3:22 p.m. I don’t like Gonzaga going to Buffalo. I don’t know what time that game is being played at, but if it is in the morning, I could easily see them being one-and-done.

3:29 p.m. Little bit of a delay here, but let me finish up on the West … I love Murray State against Vanderbilt. I am glad to see that game today had no impact on Minnesota’s seeding. Kansas State vs. Pitt is going to be epic in the Sweet 16.

3:32 p.m. Now on to the East, I don’t know what to do with Texas or Wake Forest. I hate both team’s inconsistent play. But I guess I’ll go with Wake only because Texas has been so horrible late this season. Washington is very athletic, but Marquette can match them. There’s no upset there. In fact, I really don’t see any upsets in this region.

3:38 p.m. Man, the West is chocked full with interesting games. I’m not sure how Cal got an No. 8 seed, but they have an extremely difficult matchup with Louisville and it’s another West Coast team traveling east. You have to love the experience of Siena going against an ailing Purdue team. I think a lot of people will have them advancing to the Sweet 16, but I like Texas A&M. St. Mary’s and Richmond could each give Villanova a tough time in the round of 32.

3:44 p.m. Duke is in the weakest bracket because they have Purdue and a Baylor team that is unfamiliar to being a tournament favorite.

3:49 p.m. I’m not going to pick my Elite Eight right now. But I can guarantee that it won’t be all chalk as Greg Anthony thinks. My first top eight team out is probably Kansas State. Or Ohio S

3:55 p.m. New Mexico as a No. 3 seed. Given its ranking, I’m fine with that. But I’m going to have a rough time with the Lobos once they get into the Sweet 16 and further against power-conference teams.

OK, that’s it for now. I’ll put up my final bracket before Thursday’s first game. Now it’s time for 89 hours of number-crunching and second-guessing. Get to filling those brackets!

  1. April 3, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    RESPECT

  1. June 12, 2015 at 5:07 pm
  2. June 12, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

