Home > Uncategorized > A Post About Baseball From The Previous Day — April 14

A Post About Baseball From The Previous Day — April 14

Yankees fans still see 2004 in the 2010 Javier Vazquez.

I like baseball.

I root for the Yankees, but I still become giddy when a Pirates vs. Cubs game hits WGN’s airwaves at 10 a.m. on a Tuesday morning out here on the West Coast. I’ve gone to baseball games since I was two months old, or so I’ve been told. I’ve collected baseball cards since 1994. I have a solid nest egg with those three-inch, glossy pieces of paper. I downloaded this with the full intention of reading it. The only sport I played in my youth was baseball.

Well, it was T-ball, but I ran the bases … when I still could run the bases. Even though I could walk, Sometimes I would just hit the ball off the tee and then another kid would run from home plate for me. This was necessary since I had a pretty difficult time slowing my momentum at first base and kept face-planting over the bag.

But the point is the first sentence of this post.

Trippy.

Anyway, I’ve wanted to write more on this blog while not caving in to the desire to write posts of less than 300 words. A post for each thought I have about a player or a play or a game each day would give me more hits and make me look busier than I actually am. Maybe I will cave one day soon, but I can’t do it in good faith right now. I still think it’s cheap. So for now I’ll instead be compiling all my thoughts from everything I’ve seen and heard during the day’s baseball in one post.

Yep, absolutely unoriginal in every way. I hope to keep it daily during the week and sometimes on weekends. I also hope to think of a title. Obviously, that thought hasn’t come to me yet.

  • Some fans booed Javier Vazquez because he got off to a rough start Wednesday after an awful 2010 debut on Friday. Some fans booed because they heard the Yankees traded the well-liked Melky Cabrera for him, looked at his 2009 numbers and are upset that he isn’t performing like he did with Atlanta. But I bet most of the boos directed toward Vazquez were influenced by flashbacks of 2004. To Yankees fans, Vazquez is still the pitcher who wet the bed in his first go-around in the Bronx and they will never forget that he gave up the grand slam to Johnny Damon in game 7 of the 2004 ALCS.

In other news, it’s April 14, Yankees fans! The season is not even 5 percent developed and Vazquez is getting the verbal hook in the first inning of his first home start. At least give him until June before getting serious with your “We want Melky!” chants.

  • This will never last. I can’t think of a cute nickname combining their names, so this relationship is pointless.
  • Nelson Cruz and Jorge Cantu set major league records — Cruz became the first player ever to homer in six of his team’s first eight games while Cantu collected one hit and one RBI for the ninth consecutive game to start the season. That’s nice and all, but it just hits on that universal point for players who put up obscene numbers this early in the season: They will even out. Cruz hit five homers in Texas’ first nine games last year. Cantu drove in 23 of his 100 runs last season during April. They are quick starters much like how Mark Teixeira makes his money in the second half.

Sometimes, I just have to be a buzzkill.

Neftali Feliz: Making MLB hitters look foolish since 2009

  • Closer closeout! All closers must go … somewhere else other than the ninth inning with a lead. Among those added to the DL are the Angels’ Brian Fuentes and the Orioles’ Mike Gonzalez (the team had to create some reason for his pathetic start, right?). Kevin Gregg has officially taken Jason Frasor’s job. And for another night, it’s becoming more and more certain that Frank Francisco will never get his job back. Granted, both of his saves have come against Cleveland, but watching Neftali Feliz makes me melt.

If I had to rank these replacements as fantasy options, I would go: Feliz, Gregg, Rodney and then whomever the Orioles choose to sacrifice. Is Hoyt Wilhelm still alive? No? Ah shucks.

  • More concerning fantasy injury news is that Jimmy Rollins could miss a month due to a calf strain. It’s one of those typical baseball injuries that you just don’t understand. It makes the players seem out of shape. A couple of minutes before first pitch, after he was already announced in the starting lineup, Rollins stands in the outfield, prepares for a sprint, suddenly strains a muscle and now he’s out of action until May at the earliest. Stupid repetitive-motion, stop-start, fast-twitch baseball injuries.
  • Two more hits for Scott Podsednik. Definitely pick him up if you need steals. He has six already and could easily get 50 with how he looks right now. Just be ready for a prolonged hitting slump. Scary stat that tells you the season is still in its infancy: Scott Podsednik has a 1.011 OPS.
  • Colby Lewis was one of the top strikeout pitchers in the Japanese leagues through the past two seasons. He struck out 10 batters on Wednesday. None of them were from Japan and Korean Shin-Soo Choo was the only Indians player who didn’t strike out during the game. Lewis filled in for the food-poisoned C.J. Wilson. He must have had the fish.
  • Andruw Jones hit his third home run, matching his career total with the Dodgers. He had 209 at bats with Los Angeles. He has just 20 at bats with the White Sox. I don’t think he hits more than 20 out of the yard this year, but that’s still some nice value for those from the South Side.
  • The Washington Nationals had to have known that they were flying too high, too fast when they got locked into a 7-7 battle against the Phillies in the top of the third(!!). Both starters didn’t complete two full innings and the Nats aren’t going to win a slugfest with their bullpen against the Phillies on the road. Shane Victorino set a career high with five RBIs.

    You're not going to win many (or any) games when your clean-up hitter and main run producer is hitting .097 with zero RBIs. Carlos Lee is lost for answers

  • I just feel bad for the Astros. The lineup wasn’t much without Lance Berkman, but 14 runs through eight games is a bit more futile than anyone figured possible. Carlos Lee and Hunter Pence had to carry Houston in Berkman’s absence. But they are a combined 6-for-60 with two RBIs (Pence has both). Pedro Feliz and Jason Michaels are tied for the team lead in RBIs — with three. Again, Shane Victorino had five last night. The Phillies scored as many runs last night as the Astros have all year. OK, the horse is dead already.

Lee’s not going to end the year with zero RBIs and Pence will hit too. I think think we can agree on that and I wouldn’t give up on either of them. But how much better will Berkman make this team? When discussing the worst teams in baseball before the season, I immediately dismissed Houston because I thought that it would at least be better than Pittsburgh in its own division. But that’s a gutsy call now. And just imagine if the Astros were in position to win a game. Matt Lindstrom could have lost his job by now and joined the growing group demoted closers.

  • I tried to get tickets to the night’s Dodgers game, but couldn’t find any wheelchair seating in the infield reserve level. Of course, it turns into a marathon. Nearly five hours?!?! GOOOOOOD PACE TO THIS ONE! How could I not be there??? This is an outrage! Noteworthy from this game — besides all that pitching and hitting and the stuff that matters — was that Mark Reynolds, who is not known for his glove, made three really nice fielding plays, all from his knees. He also had six plate appearances in a single game without striking out. That’s got to be a personal best.
  • Good to see Dodger Stadium security finally cracking down on all those rowdy tailgaters and their chicken sandwiches. Oh, how many lives those addictive, destructive chickens have wrecked. Being consumed in public, it just sets a bad example for the little ones.
  • Troy Glaus has been painful to watch at times, but he still has the ability to make his home run swing look beautiful. I think he got all of it.
  • What was not a work of art was the inside-the-park home run for Aubrey Huff. He looked like he was running directly into an industrial fan set on full blast for the final 80 feet. Also, there is a discrepancy on those TV and radio calls of that home run. Did the ball deflect off archway No. 7 or No. 8? Inquiring minds want to know!
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

