Home > Uncategorized > Despite My Private Selfish Protests, Stephen Strasburg Is Coming Up June 8

Despite My Private Selfish Protests, Stephen Strasburg Is Coming Up June 8

Set your countdown clocks. As of this writing, we are approximately 7 days, 21 hours and 4 minutes away from Stephen Strasburg’s MLB launch.

But with Strasburg and the Los Angeles Lakers, I figured I would be left screwed in any possible sports-fan scenario and now I have to deal with it.

I’ve been eagerly awaiting Strasburg’s immanent MLB arrival for a few weeks now, knowing that it could interfere with my schedule. It’s not a busy schedule, but I do have plans, you know?

First, he was going to arrive on June 4. That would be OK with me. I am going to Los Angeles Dodgers games on June 1 and June 3, so I would be clear there. But Strasburg was given another start at Triple-A and his ETA was pushed back to the Nationals’ June 8-10 series versus Pittsburgh.

Oh, treacherous.

Until last week, the only land mine was June 9, as I have tickets to another Dodgers game (Hey, if you could get seats with a view like this for $17 bucks per, you’d go to a lot of games too! I hate the Dodgers, but cheap baseball is always fun).

Then, on Saturday, the Los Angeles Lakers had to go and make me so happy. And and now so very anxious.

Since Game 1 of the NBA Finals is Thursday, I understood the possibility that Game 3 may coincide with Strasburg’s debut. I assumed that the NBA would use every Sunday possible to air its ultimate showcase, but I hoped against hope that the slate of games wouldn’t call for a stupid break of two full days between games 1 and 2. My prayers went unanswered.

Game 2 is Sunday and Game 3 is Tuesday, June 8. Of course.

I want to write a running blog for both events, but this conflict may cause me to meld the two together into one post. So, for once in my life, I hope for a fast baseball game next Tuesday. The Nationals and Pirates will begin around 4:07 p.m. West Coast time. The Lakers and Celtics will tip about two hours later. If Strasburg can work a quick six innings, I might be able to catch all of his start AND all of the NBA’s most frequent finals matchup.

This will be a non-issue if the man they call Jesus gets shelled and lasts about 2.2 innings. But against the Pirates at home, that seems unlikely.

I’m sure this comes off as just whining. That’s exactly what it is. I want to see both of next Tuesday’s spectacles in their entirety. I wanna, I wanna, I wanna!!!!

Come June 8, I fear that I'll have to have to choose between watching the phenom or the finals

  1. June 4, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Live blog them both.

    At the same time.

    Please.

    Please.

    Or, tape one and then tape-delay live blog one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

