Home > Uncategorized > Running Off At The Electronic Mouth, No. XVIII

Running Off At The Electronic Mouth, No. XVIII

It's one step closer to Miami

  • There’s not much I can say about Game 3 of the NBA Finals. The Mavericks played pretty well; they just need players other than Dirk to step up on offense and cut back on the turnovers. The Mavericks are plus-11 in turnovers this series. That’s not a good thing.

On the other side, Chris Bosh had three rebounds, LeBron scored just 17 points, the bench did little outside of Chalmers, the defense was very average … and the Heat still won. The biggest takeaway from this game for me is this: The Mavericks will have to win the next three games to win the championship because there is NO CHANCE of them winning a Game 7 in Miami.

  • Speaking of no chance, that’s exactly what I thought the Mavericks had at the half to win Game 2. I was so confident, I told a friend of mine that I would give $100 to a charity of his choice if Dallas won the game.

Oh well. There are much worse penalties for losing a bet than being a Samaritan. I submitted my first $10 installment today because I’m not exactly swimming in cash at the moment to just drop the Benjamin in one dose.

By the way, please donate to Partners In Health. I gave to the general fund, but there are many good causes to choose from. No, you are not required to lose a bet to donate.

  • How cool were those men’s semifinals on Friday at the French Open? That’s not a rhetorical question; I’m really asking because we didn’t get to see it out here live in California. When I turned on NBC early Friday morning, I didn’t see tennis; I saw the Backstreet Boys performing on “Today.”

I’m not sure if it was solely NBC’s decision, but for some reason, Murray vs. Nadal and Federer vs. Djokovic were shown on tape delay in the Pacific and Mountain time zones. By the time the Federer/Djokovic match “started,” it was already in the fourth set. After two weeks of DirecTV’s splendid French Open coverage, which showed all matches live, even those beginning at about 2 a.m. out here, what a lovely time to put the French Open on the back burner.

If it was NBC’s decision to delay the telecast, I would love to hear the logic behind that one. How any network could decide against showing perhaps the greatest quartet of male tennis players to ever play in a semifinal round of any slam in favor of Hoda and Kathie Lee’s latest round of alcoholic gossip babble is beyond me.

  • Shaquille O’Neal’s retirement presser was, of course, enjoyable television. But I hope I’m not the only one who found it a little odd that he had three restaurants cater the PC so that he could show his love for members of the media, have them hang out and thank them. The gesture is certainly nice, but I still feel as if a conflict on interest, even with a retired player. Shaq seriously wanted the media members to stay for his party. Part of me thinks I’m overreacting, but the majority of me thinks that’s kinda weird.

Getting fired because your players are flunking and fighting each other: No problem.

Players selling trinkets for tattoos: The school is asleep at the wheel!

The day prior to Cooper’s comments, former Florida head coach Urban Mayer was on ESPN and was asked what college football programs can do to halt the rash of players violating NCAA rules.

Curiously, “stop getting arrested” was not one of his answers.

  • Here’s something else that doesn’t make sense. Actually, it’s two things:

Miguel Cabrera got his driver’s license back. But he still faces DUI charges stemming from his February arrest.

Oh, Florida. Nothing about you is correct.

  • Nine days after the fact, Johnny Bench had his say on the Buster Posey, um, incident. The next day, Posey released a statement about something, I don’t really care. Seriously, are these the longest legs you have ever seen on an on-field sports story where no wrong occurred and that didn’t contain the words “championship,” or “faggot”?
  • Tom Brokaw is hosting a new 30-minute show on FOX Sports Net called “The Boys in the Hall.” I haven’t seen it yet, but it’s basically former commissioner Fay Vincent interviewing MLB Hall of Famers. I wonder if he made room on his panel for a drunk chick from Winnipeg.
  • That girl is probably ecstatic that the Atlanta Thrashers — or whatever they will be called — moving to Winnipeg. It’s a story that I don’t care too much about because I don’t care too much about hockey, although these Stanley Cup Finals have been fun.

However, I am intrigued by a couple of the quotes from NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman on the move. In CNN’s write-up, Bettman said: “It’s nice to be back in Winnipeg after all these years.”

A few graphs later, Bettman is quoted again. “To fans in Atlanta, we are not happy about leaving Atlanta,” he said. “Please be assured it was not about whether Winnipeg is better than Atlanta.”

But he approved the move back to Winnipeg, so for the NHL, this is about Winnipeg is better than Atlanta. Maybe not by much financially or organizationally, but yeah, it’s enough.

  • Lastly, the most tragic baseball story you will read this year and hopefully forever. It’s awful events like this that make you how supremely realize fragile our existence is. All of my sympathy goes out to Hayden’s family and friends.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

