Home > Uncategorized > Dan Gilbert Just Can’t Shut Up

Dan Gilbert Just Can’t Shut Up

One of the reasons I don’t post here as much as I should or even as much as I would like is this really stupid way of thinking I have toward short posts.

I realize it’s stupid, but I can’t get away from it. I decide against writing a post if I don’t think I can get at least 400-plus words out of it. That’s basically why I do Running Off at the Electronic Mouth; most of those are just a jumble of subjects I want to write about here but don’t because of this bastardization I’ve placed upon small posts.

But I’m going to overcome this right now — although that was a pretty long intro about being short, so I may have defeated the purpose. Aw, damn.

Anyway, Cleveland Cavaliers owner Dan Gilbert needs to be quiet. Here’s what he said via Twitter shortly after LeBron James and the Miami Heat were ultimately vanquished in Game 6 of the NBA Finals tonight:

“Congrats to Mark C.&entire Mavs org. Mavs NEVER stopped & now entire franchise gets rings. Old Lesson for all:There are NO SHORTCUTS. NONE

Dan, nobody likes a sore loser. Especially a rich one.

And nobody likes a chatty sore loser who is in no position to talk.

What happened to Miami doesn’t make what Gilbert said in his “open letter” right. This doesn’t vindicate his actions. This is not an “I told you so!” moment. Actually, what happened to Miami has nothing to do with him, but Gilbert apparently feels compelled to make himself part of the story with a season-ending jab at his former employee.

Meanwhile, his own NBA team finished with the league’s second-lowest win total, set a record for longest losing streak, won 19 games and have the honor of holding the No. 1 pick in a watered-down draft. Gilbert should focus more on those issues than trying to make it look like he’s sitting atop some sort of moral high ground.

It’s slightly ironic that this was addressed to Cuban; over the past year, Gilbert has zoomed past Cuban as the NBA owner most in need of a muzzle.

Was that short enough for ya? I’m trying.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

