Home > Uncategorized > Pirates and Braves. Almost 7 Hours. 19 Innings. And An Ending That Only A Blind Man Could Love

Pirates and Braves. Almost 7 Hours. 19 Innings. And An Ending That Only A Blind Man Could Love

I was all set to go to bed pissed off.

I wasn’t planning on staying up for the end of tonight’s Pirates-Braves game, a game that obviously called out for me to say something about it. That’s because I got up at 4:45 a.m. today for no apparent reason and spent all day writing fantasy football news updates. It was a crazy day in the NFL, but it caused me to miss an equally amazing day in baseball. And I didn’t like it one bit.

I was about to go to bed and wake up extra early tomorrow to voice my displeasure, tongue in cheek, about how the lack of an NFL lockout has ruined baseball for me. And I still might — again, there were a lot of great games tonight.

But Pirates versus Braves. I couldn’t sleep on this one. The good stuff that everyone will be talking about ad nauseam is below. But where to start?

At six hours and 39 minutes, it was the longest game in terms of time in the history of both franchises. It was the Braves’ longest game in terms of innings played since a 19-inning duel with the Mets back in 1985. For the Pirates, you have to go back to 1980. All position players were used. Both teams didn’t score from the third through the 18th inning. Cristhian Martinez threw the most pitches and innings in his career, allowing two hits over six innings in relief.

I’m sure there is a boatload more of unique stats and occurrences that took place in this game that I absolutely live for.

But really, no one will remember that. It’s all about this game-ending play at the plate.

You have to feel bad for home plate umpire Jerry Meals. I mean, that call makes Jim Joyce look flawless. And you hate to see a game that went so long ended like that. I’ll be interested to see how both teams respond over the next week or so.

However, any sympathy for Meals vanishes when you realize that he had an awful all-around game and was looking to pick a fight all night. No one was happy with his strike zone all night, and at the end, it looked like he just made a call so that he could go home. Don’t be silly, it wasn’t the worst call ever. But it was blatantly bad. It’s obvious that Julio Lugo got tagged on the right knee. Well, obvious except the person who counts, I guess. I expect an apology or a notice of error soon.

Also … Julio Lugo? He’s still alive?

But Meals’ horrible call isn’t even the most interesting part to that play. That goes to Scott Proctor. In case you didn’t notice it the first time, click on the game-ending play link again and just watch Proctor come out of the batter’s box at around the one-minute mark.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand … face plant! Classic. Just classic. My stomach hurt for at least 10 minutes after watching that. Because of Proctor’s inability to run, I completely forgot about the controversy at home plate. Typical clumsy relief pitcher.

By the way, Proctor became the first relief pitcher since Randy Keisler in 2005 to record a walk-off RBI.

And now, I will finally go to bed about two hours after I planned. I can hardly see out of these eyes now, so any missing words or mistakes in spelling can be blamed on that. I’m willing to concede.

But this game demanded everyone’s time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

