Home > Uncategorized > I Am Clayton Kershaw’s Good-Luck Charm

I Am Clayton Kershaw’s Good-Luck Charm

Well, not really. Dude’s been pretty dominant all year long, and he’s making me feel pretty smart for picking him to win the Cy Young prior to this season.

At home, Kershaw is 10-1 in 14 starts with a 1.80 ERA. But when I’m in attendance, Kershaw turns it up a notch, obviously in an effort to impress me. On Monday, I went to my tenth Dodgers game this season and for whatever reason, Kershaw has been the starter in 40 percent of those games. In those four starts, Kershaw has allowed a total of four runs and nine walks with 32 strikeouts. He has an ERA of 1.04 and a WHIP of 0.78.

Most impressive is the fact that Kershaw has pitched 34.2 innings in those four starts. Some simple multiplication tells you how awesome that is, especially when you consider Kershaw had a really tough time just making it out of the sixth as little as two years ago. Now he leads the NL in innings pitched.

Granted, one of those games — April 21 versus the Braves — went 12 innings, but which starting pitcher is expected to throw more than nine innings in any game ever?

I will be going to one more Dodgers game this season — Sept. 21 versus San Francisco. I have no idea if Kershaw will be on the mound. I would like it if he’s not because while watching him work is really fun stuff, I’m sick of going to the games that the Dodgers actually win. But if the Giants and the Dodgers keep their rotations the same for the next three weeks and I do get to see Kershaw yet again, he’ll be matched up against Tim Lincecum. I’ve got no problem with that beauty.

Lastly, this is something that I probably would have held off writing about until one of those “Running Off At The Electronic Mouth” posts, but I really need to wean off those things. For one, they don’t get almost any views and secondly, it is kind of a cheap way to mention things (read: covering my ass) I should have written about earlier in the week.

I know I’ve said this before. But this time, I’m gonna mean it.

  1. Jgro
    September 1, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I remember like 4 times when the count was 0-2 and someone got a hit after the 8th inning. David Rossssssssssss and Dan Uggla came to mind.

    • September 2, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      Yep. All with two outs, Chipper singled, Uggla singled on 1-2, Freeman walked on 3-2 and Ross singled on 0-2 to put the Braves ahead for a moment. And then something else happened after that which I don’t remember.

  2. Jgro
    September 4, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    lol Kemp hit a walk off on an 0-2 pitch

  3. September 4, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Hey, I was trying to save you from a bad memory. : )

    Nice to see them come back today off of Kershaw. That’s what happens when I don’t watch him in person.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

