Home > Uncategorized > Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor, Your Fantasy Football Questions

Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor, Your Fantasy Football Questions

A couple of weeks ago, I started a post, writing a couple of sentences about each of the top 180 or 200 players in a fantasy football draft.

But I couldn’t finish that in time to make it meaningful to anyone. I know most of you have already finished your drafts by now.

Then, a couple of a days ago, I decided I was going to write about nothing but sleeper picks. Until I realized that my sleepers were already so popular, they weren’t really sleepers any longer. So I didn’t finish that.

Anyway, while I am disappointed I couldn’t really publish either, both posts led to one point: I like fantasy football. A lot. A healthy number of my 350+ posts here at least mention fantasy football. During the season, I hope grad school gives me enough time to write a recap of each weekend’s action with a fantasy spin, which is something I did a lot of in 2009. I plan to write a live blog here Wednesday night during my 12-team auction draft. I am currently getting paid to write news updates for a fantasy football website.

Fantasy football advice is about as solid as quicksand, but I think I know as much as anyone. And I’m not afraid to give out opinions, so please e-mail me with your fantasy football questions. You can reach me at gmenn41@aol.com. I guarantee that my advice will be just as educated as anyone else’s. And that’s a vague, blanket statement you can take to the bank!

And I’ll end this post with a couple of fantasy tidbits as we are now just four days away from the first game of the season.

I am infatuated with Sam Bradford. His receivers aren’t great, but they are plentiful. Be it Danny Amendola, Mike Sims-Walker, Brandon Gibson, Lance Kendricks, etc., Bradford will have enough people available to catch whatever he’s dishing out. But more importantly, offensive coordinator Josh McDaniels turned Tom Brady into a rec0rd-setter; he turned Matt Cassel into a franchise QB; he turned Kyle Orton into the 2010 fantasy MVP through the first half of last season. He knows quarterbacks, and Bradford is more talented than Cassel and Orton. He’s an outstanding as QB2. Maybe not as good as Matthew Stafford, but solid nonetheless.

Also, my current top five in a standard (non-point-per-reception) league is: Adrian Peterson, Chris Johnson, Jamaal Charles, Ray Rice, LeSean McCoy.

Peterson is about as safe as they come, even though the Vikings have an awful offensive line.

Johnson, with his game-breaking ability on the ground and as a receiver, is a pretty easy choice at No .2.

Charles has Johnson’s ability, but not his touchdown potential. He’s still giving some of those away to Thomas Jones.

Rice is about as solid as they come, but his upside is more limited than those in front of him. Plus, he hasn’t scored more than eight touchdowns in any season.

I’m willing to move McCoy back, but Arian Foster’s hamstring really scares the hell out of me. He has a history with these kinds of ailments dating back to his days at the University of Tennessee.

Oh, and in case you haven’t heard, there’s this. Plan accordingly.

But yeah, send me your queries. I’ll try to respond as promptly as possible.

  1. September 4, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    You mistyped the word “it” as “I6”. Also, what do I do with Joe flavor as my starting qb ( 10th round auto draft pick…)

  2. September 4, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    *Flaco, damn you auto correct !

    • September 5, 2011 at 12:56 am

      First of all, how does spell check not catch “i6”? How do I not catch “i6”? That’s awful. Thanks, bro.

      Oh, and Flacco is spelled with two Cs. : )

      Well, If you have Flacco as your starting QB, the rest of your roster better be awesome. I think he’s going to struggle this year after losing tight end Todd Heap and WR Derrick Mason. Anquan Boldin’s a nice possession receiver and Lee Evans is a decent second option, but there isn’t a lot of proven talent for him to throw to. Plus, the Ravens run the ball A LOT! That limits Flacco’s TD opportunities. I mean, he can be decent for you, but I don’t think he’s going to be consistently great. You should expect 10-12 points a week, nothing more.

      Good news for you: A QB will always pop out of nowhere to become a decent starter in fantasy. Until then, just grin and bear it with Flacco or try to swing a trade. But that depends on what the rest of your roster looks like.

      Thanks for the question, Frank. Send my best to Brit. Love you kids.

  3. September 5, 2011 at 6:22 am

    Should I trade a rb to get a better qb? Or stick with flacco ?

  4. September 5, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Well, I’d have to know whom your running back are. What does your roster look like? Also, how many teams are in the league and what is your scoring system? In other words, how many points do players get for 10 yards rushing, 10 yards receiving, 25 yards passing, touchdowns, etc?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

