Home > San Francisco Giants, Washington Nationals > Are You Ready For Some Early Baseball?!

Are You Ready For Some Early Baseball?!

Sports? In the morning?

I have a lot of family on the East Coast that can’t grasp the concept. I tell them about the wonders of getting up on the weekends of those autumn months and being able to turn on a game at 9 or 10 a.m. They just give me the confused dog head tilt and them moan about how that’s just “too00o00 earrrly.” Oh, woe.

The best part of sports on the West Coast isn’t really the starting times; it’s when all of the games conclude. On a normal night, you can get to bed and rest assured that you won’t miss anything by 10:30. That’s the top of the second inning of an Angels or Mariners home game if you live on the right-hand side.

Honestly, any time is a good time for live sports. I’m probably the Australian Open’s biggest fan because it’s live drama in the dead of night. On NFL Sundays, I’m awake by 7 a.m. latest, because I’m very, very sick when it comes to fantasy football. Don’t even get me going on the splendor of televised University of Hawaii football night games. Hell, it’s 2:08 a.m. in California right now; there has to be some live cricket action somewhere that I can watch.

For baseball, the earliest game we have, if MLB isn’t holding anything over in Japan, is the annual Patriots’ Day game at Fenway. That has had a scheduled start time of 8:05 a.m. here in the West for a long, long time. But this year we get another treat, thanks to the Fourth of July in D.C.

Wednesday’s game between the Nationals and Giants — Edwin Jackson versus Madison Bumgarner — is slated to begin at 8:05 a.m. Pacific.

I will give a gallant effort to take advantage of that game. However, today is my birthday, and I’m probably going to be out late. And then I’m just going to be out.

I’m gonna go ahead set my fantasy lineup for Wednesday now just in case I don’t wake up in time. I’d probably be better off pulling an all-nighter to ensure I’m up for first pitch. I am sure I would feel better in the morning.

  1. Jgro
    July 4, 2012 at 1:36 am

    to answer your title question: no

    • July 4, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      I was able to get up at about 9 this morning. Consider I probably didn’t get home until about 3:30, and then stayed up past dawn writing Facebook thank-yous, I’m pretty freaking proud of myself.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

